

ESAA Board of Directors Meeting – Via Teleconference July 1, 2014

<u>In attendance</u>: Kathy Cunningham-Roy, Tony DiSiena, Janet Gray, Judi Hunter, Bob Mellis, Carl Necker, John Nielsen, BJ Parsons, Anna Quigley, Julie Quirk, Coleen Raber, Harvey Wooding, Lynda Chase - guest as a member of the Futurity/Maturity committee.

The meeting called to order at 8:07 EST.

Janet made some opening remarks regarding the initial discussions on the progress of the proposed revisions to the Futurity/Maturity guidelines. She then turned the meeting over to Julie Quirk, as committee chair.

Julie summarized the history of the establishment of the ad hoc committee, and the process used to come up with the majority and minority reports.

John Nielsen clarified that the Futurity was created to increase ESAA membership and also to increase attendance at the National Specialty.

It was acknowledged that many members did not like the idea of "buy-ins" to the Futurity at the last minute, and this request did not come up in member feedback. Members reacted positively to the ability to pay a late fee for curing a defective membership issue on the bitch nomination. Membership feedback indicated that change is needed.

Harvey indicated that the proposal is no longer a "Futurity" as proposed. He felt it will be too easy for non-member/owners to slip through the cracks of the process and make the Futurity enrollment without becoming members. Our breeders will have to be more diligent in mentoring their puppy buyers.

The Board will be sent a ballot to approve/disapprove the revisions to futurity, due back by July 8, 2014.

It was suggested that, if the proposal passes, the starting date be March 1 of 2015, which will begin the 2016 Futurity/Maturity year. The Board agreed to this suggestion.

We are requesting that the web site committee put the futurity forms on the web site for easy access, and that paypal be set up to accept futurity payments, should the proposal pass.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Colsen M. Raber

Coleen M. Raber ESAA Secretary